‘Africa’, ‘Kumushi’ & ‘Na Ndayeya’ – Namvula

NamvulaI would like to share with you three amazing tracks of a newcomer artist from who we will definitely hear more in future. Namvula is one of many female Zambian artists (like Wezi, Mutinta, Chisamo or Scarlet), who are leading a new generation of Zambian artists and she is cleraly one of the most promising artists among them. Her Afrofolk/pop is refreshing in sound and revolutionary in its lyrics.

Whereas tracks like ‘Kumushi‘ and ‘Na Ndayeya (Part 2)‘ stand out because of their perfect instrumental and vocal harmony, ‘Africa‘ shows a distinct socio-political message. Namvula’s music is gently rebelling against current injustices on the African continent. The tracks are taken from her forthcoming album ‘Shiwezwa‘ (follow the artist on Facebook to receive updates on the release date).

Namvula is not only a musician and photographer but also engageed in the organisation Baobab Cente for Young Survivors in Exile where young people from communities broken by violence have theopportunity to build confidence, find their own voice and share their opinions.

You see me through eyes blinded by what you think you know
From now on shall I be defined by the boundaries of your mind
Shall I bound my back, Shall I shut my mouth
Shall I leave my pride behind and walk on blind
On a besoin d’une révolution (we need a revolution)
On besoin de Thomas Sankara, de Patrice Lumumba, on a besoin
You tell me that my truth isn’t enough to set me free ...”
– Namvula in ‘Africa

 


Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

